Pastoral Organisation

The pastoral care offered to our students at Carshalton Boys Sports College is designed to support them in becoming independent, enquiring and creative young people, enabling them to take PRIDE in themselves, their work and their school. We aim to provide a personalised learning experience for our young people that responds to each person's needs, talents and interests.

Our experienced and talented pastoral teams play a central role in supporting every student's social and academic development.

​Students have a tutor and tutor group who they see every day and who form their immediate family in school. Each year group has a Learning Coordinator and Pastoral Support Officer whose role is to coordinate the activities of the group, support the tutor team and take responsibility for the welfare of group members.

There are lots of opportunities for students to gain leadership experience and take part in the school's decision-making processes. We have an active school council (CBSC Power) with representatives from each year group. A rich and diverse curriculum offer and a wide range of extra-curricular activities hopefully ensures that everyone can find something in which to excel.

If you have any concerns about your child's experience of school, please contact the relevant Learning Coordinator or Pastoral Support Officer who will support you.

Lower School - Years 7 & 8

Year 7 Deputy Principal Emma Morris

Head of Year Jack Wadman
Pastoral Support Officer Faith Awolope
Year 8 Vice Principal Jenny Gaylor

Head of Year Andrew Norton
Pastoral Support Officer Natalie Howard

Upper School - Years 9 & 10

Year 9 Deputy Principal Paul Avery

Head of Year Reece Szreider
Pastoral Support Officer Faye McLellan
Year 10 Principal Simon Barber

Head of Year Molly Torpey
Pastoral Support Officer Sue Garcia

Senior School - Years 11, 12 & 13

Year 11 Deputy Principal Matt Robinson

Head of Year Shannon McGrath
Pastoral Support Officer Emma Thompson
Year 12 & 13 Assistant Principal Paula Cowell

  Academic Head of 6th form Annie White
  Pastoral Head of 6th form Brendan Earley
  Pastoral Support Officer Sue Barker